The blissful introvert

9 Jul

I already told you about My Incredible Day last Monday at Fenway Park — you know, the one that just kept getting better and better? (Re: Jays victory, rainbow, fireworks) Well, last night I finally got ahold of one of my good friends whom I have not spoken to since she recently moved to Chicago. I gave her the usual updates, then mentioned my solo trip to Boston for the ballgame, and beamed: “It was The Best Day of My Life!” (Capitalization added for emphasis) But my friend was puzzled. “You went there alone??” I rattled on, “Yesomigoditwassoawesomeandthejayswon.BEST.DAY.EVER.” Clearly I spoke in tongues, for my dear friend was still terribly confused. After a brief pause, she said to me, “So you’re saying… You spent the best day of your life… ALONE?”

Suddenly I understood what she meant. Generally, people have a problem with being alone. Why?

So I proceeded to explain to my friend what it means to be an introvert, and that spending time alone is A-OK.

First, we should get some things straightened out. There is nothing wrong with introverts. Am I biased? Whatever, man. Introverts are not necessarily “shy,” and they do not need to “learn” how to be extroverts. In fact, many amazing and talented people (such as yours truly, #butsrsly) are introverts. Excuse me while I drop some names. Albert Einstein. Heard of him? Okay, so you think A.E. was a genius and that’s cool, but he was a little eccentric. No problem, there are many more incredible introverts to choose from. How about: Monet. Charles Schulz. Atticus Finch. Tom Hanks. Steve Martin.

You may now be further convinced that introverts are not necessarily “weird,” (if I had a nickel….) because you think some of these people are “alright.” To extend my case, I will give you the CliffsNotes version on Introversion 101. Topics include: What are some of the defining character traits of an introvert? And what’s the deal with wanting to be alone? Do introverts hate people? No, that is silly; introverts do not hate people (maybe not all people). Introverts prefer to spend time with only one or two people at a time, in order to develop loyal and intimate friendships. Introverts are highly intellectual individuals, and they like to spend time on their own to process their myriad thoughts, feelings, and observations. Introverts are independent and ambitious, and they work most efficiently alone. Finally, introverts do like to talk, but not about frivolous subjects. An introvert will possess intense interests or hobbies that they will enthusiastically share and discuss with others for hours. Maybe you can figure out what mine is. #takeawildguess

I grew up an only child, so introversion came inherently. I spent copious amounts of time alone, developing my creativity and imagination, contemplating logic and science, and simply learning about myself. Even still, I enjoy the time I spend by myself; it is both comforting and rejuvenating. Of course, it is unquestionable that The Best Day of My Life might occur when I’m independent and unfettered, indulging in something I love, whether it is a companionless journey to a baseball game, or a string of fantastic thoughtful moments.

painting by Michael Parkes

2 Responses to “The blissful introvert”

  1. Pike Parker July 9, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Well said!

    • Elise Myers July 10, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Thank you Pike Parker! Not to make assumptions, but I find that the internet is a wonderful playground for introverted folks like myself!

Leave a Reply

